Keep it real

Posted: January 11, 2020 in Uncategorized

I feel like the closest people to my heart aren’t always the ones who do me the most favors or offer me the best advice. They aren’t the ones who constantly tell me good things about myself or shower me with gifts either. They’re rather the people who simply choose to be real around me. Those who expose me to sides of them no one has access to. Those whose conversations are way past how they like the weather or what they enjoy having for lunch everyday. But more about the thoughts that race through their minds on their darkest days, and the parts of them they’re still unable to make peace with. With the constant current need to always seem like we have it all together all the time, I seem to appreciate rawness and imperfection even more. There isn’t a single person who happens to take me to one of those sides of them for even once, that I’m able to change anything about the place they settle in inside my heart. No matter how many other unpleasantries they might continue projecting on me as we both go through life. Because I would’ve had the chance to see them for who they really are, and very few things in life are more beautiful than that.

Leave a comment